2003-12-27 - 9:02 a.m.

Well, here I am at work again. 8am to 12pm is a stupid shift to work on a Saturday. Bleh. No one is calling anyway. I think I've had three short calls in the hour I've been here. None of them lasted for more than 5 minutes. There are three people here now and none of us are in calls.
It's nice, I guess. I mean, I'd rather sit here playing on the internet than talking to cranky users on Saturday morning.

Service announcement:
After buying Microsoft XP, do not take out the CD and throw away everything else! Especially do not throw away your product key, dumbfucks! And no! I cannot give a product key to you over the phone, no matter how much you whine and beg!

Although I did just give the serial number for Fetch over the phone. But that's because we have a site license.

Though Clay got in last night supposedly, since he works this morning, I still haven't heard from him. But that's not really that surprising, I guess, since I wasn't online very late and he wouldn't be online this morning since he has to work. I'm going to go into the library myself to do some work after I'm done here, though, so I should see him there.


I have a new cat. Her name is Emma, but I just call her "Mouw" half of the time, because that's what she says. She is very beautiful and she hates my Charcat with a passion. It makes things exciting.
In the beginning, she would barely let me touch her and sat around growling all the time, but she's calmed down a lot now and makes me pet her a lot, though she's prone to suddenly changing her mind and biting me. Consequently, I have scratches and bitemarks all over my hands. Thank heavens she's declawed.

About a month ago, she just started hanging around outside my apartment and nobody knew who she belonged to. I put out food and water for her. And she would stand outside my door and say "Mouw!" over and over again when she wanted attention. And that's when I started calling her Mouwcat.
Then one day I came home from work and Animal Control was there. One of my neighbors had called them to come get the kitty. So I just said that I'd take her because I'd already gotten kind of attached to her and I knew that if she went to the Humane Society, no one would adopt her since she's old and grouchy. So she took up residence very reluctantly in my apartment.

She has now claimed her spots in my room and lords over Char, who ignores her a lot and pesters her when she's not ignoring her. They're getting better together, but I don't think they'll ever be best friends.

I named her Emma because I've been reading about the Mountain Meadows Massacre a lot lately and Emma Batchlor married John D. Lee right after the massacre. And I'm just going to leave it at that because I'm not going to write a whole treatise on the event, so you'll have to figure out the significance of that for yourself if you're interested. (I recommend American Massacre: The Tragedy at Mountain Meadows, September 1857 or Blood of the Prophets if you actually are interested.)
Anyway, Emma Lee was a really interesting woman and in the picture of her on this page, she has the same expression on her face that the Mouwcat usually has. Especially when she looks at Char.

I will have to work on getting some pictures of her up.


Okay. Christmas. For Christmas I got a TV that I really didn't need because the little one that Tony gave me was working just fine and I was running the DVD player through the VCR and that was working fine. But this one is bigger (20 inches as opposed to 13 inches) and I can hook the DVD player directly up to it, so I'm not complaining. Now I just have to figure out what to do with the little TV, unless Tony wants it back.

I also got a computer chair, so I can stop using the metal folding chair that I've used for years. That'll be neat. As soon as I put it together. And I got a sweatshirt and the edited version of Try This, which is actually more expensive than the explicit version. But it's worth it, I guess, to keep from sullying my virgin ears!
And I got a metal flying piggybank too and that was neat.

Only four of the gifts I got for people came on time, and two were for Clay and one was for Gretchen, who is living with her fiance in Ohio, so only one was of any use to me on Christmas. But it serves me right for being so involved with school and finals that I ignored Christmas until it was too late.

On January 1st, I get to leave early in the morning with my family and Gretchen's best friend, Bethany, who is superannoying to go to Ohio to get her married off. It should be... interesting. I have to figure out what to wear. She doesn't want people wearing black at her wedding and I'm going to try to keep it somewhat appropriate and not too skanky, so that leaves out most of the dresses that I have. I'll probably end up wearing the outfit I wore to the last wedding I went to, a full length dark burgundy sheath dress (very clingy) with a dressy black shirt over it to hide my nipples because I refuse to wear a bra. My sister will just have to deal with the black.

Bleh. I'm bored now. I'm going to go waste some more of my life playing NetHack.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!