2002-04-10 - 10:26 a.m.

Things I got in the mail yesterday,with commentary:

  • Valpak Savings crap: I used to go through these scrupulously and pull out the ones I thought I could use. But they ended up just sitting on top of my refridgerator or on the floor or the windowsill or whereever until they expired and either got thrown away or melded into the mess of my room. So now I just throw the whole thing away without opening it.
  • Home Address: News for Family and Friends of University of Wisconsin-Madison Students: (The color was in the title of the newsletter.) This was obviously meant to be sent to my parents, but since I have my own apartment address as my "permanent address" in my student info, I get all the stuff meant for my parents. And I'll throw this away instead of giving it to them because it's a big boring stupid thing and they'll get one anyway because of Emily. (Emily is my sister, who also goes to this school.)
  • A FINAL NOTICE from the National Rifle Association of America: Since I've never gotten anything from the NRA before, I don't see how this can be a final notice. Besides the fact that what is it a final notice for? Is this my final warning to buy a gun before they start the race war or what? I think I'll open it....
    Ah...
    "...Today I'm sending out this "Final Notice" to gun owners and freedom-loving Americans across the country to let you know that time is running out -- unless you act now, your Second Amendment rights are certain to be dismantled and destroyed by anti-gun politicians."
    The underlining really excites me. I think I'll join... but only if Charleton Heston calls me, the same way Robert Redford called me and told me to vote for Gore. That was way exciting.
  • National Parks Conservation Association - You have been selected to participate in an important national survey on America's National Parks: I feel flattered and priviledged that I was selected for this great honor. Oo! It has a special envelope that it was sent in that can also be used as a return envelope.
    This Special Envelope Will Help To protect and conserve our natural resources by making one envelope do the work for two.
    I think it'll also cause much frustration if I tried to use it. Luckily, I plan on sending nothing to them. I plan on taking out any goodies, like address labels, and throwing the rest away because dammit, I don't have any money. Oh! It does have address labels! And a sticker! Weehaw!
  • a Road Runner Sports catalog: Overpriced running clothes. Fun to look at sometimes, though.


I have a headache. I've been staying up way too late lately. I mean... well... the night before last I didn't get to sleep until around 5:45 probably. MD came over around 5. And I slept until 4 PM the next day, which was bad and naughty. And I woke up all in withdrawal from my meds and feeling all weird and it took a while to get feeling right again. But I did manage to go to work and work for a few hours.

I had some realizations about love and sex that night. MD have been having tons of problems lately and both of us have been thinking hard about breaking up, I guess. And I've been feeling antsy... getting the urge to sow more of my wild oats, I guess. But that night I had some experiences that made me realize just how good it is with MD. We still have to talk a lot of things out, but I think it'll be okay.

Last night I stayed up until 2 or 3 or something. (Sometimes it's just too much trouble to look at the clock. And sometimes I just avoid it because I know that it's late, but as long as I don't know exactly how late it is, I don't feel so guilty for staying up.) I stayed up just because I had slept so late that day and I just sat up reading and stuff. But I'm sleepy today. I'm sleepy everyday. I think I just need 24 hours where I can sleep and sleep and sleep. Unfortunately, there's not really an opportunity for that until the weekend after next. This weekend I'm going (really) on a fieldtrip to hunt for bugs on Sunday. And Saturday I have to work for a few hours and take my sister to a thrift store.

I also have a lot of writing that I have to do. I should have done it last night, but it just didn't happen.

Anyway. Yeah. I think I'm done writing for now.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!